Well, it is another snowy day here in Fresno, Ohio.  We probably have between another four and five inches of snow on top of the additional snow that we already have, just today.  I remembered I was just about out of straw, and the dog boxes were on the borderline of needing more straw, so at about 4:00p.m. I drove about a mile down the road to Agland CoOp to get four more bales of straw.  Between my dogs and my Mom and Dad's dogs that should hopefully be enough for the rest of the winter/early spring.  It doesn't seem to take very long for the beagles to get their straw broken down from its original "fluffy" state.  As soon as I see this, I put some more in.  I know of some guys whose houses I have been to this winter and have not even seen any straw in the boxes.  This is really sad.  I know my dogs do just about everything that I ask of them, so in turn I am going to make sure they are nice and warm when the temperatures start to drop.  If someone who owns dogs cannot do this either because he/she is to lazy or does not have the funds to by some bedding to put in the boxes, then he/she does not need dogs in the first place.  Like I said, the snow has been falling since about noon today.  When I came back with the straw my truck would not make it up the drive so I walked back to the house and go the tractor and snow plow and some rope.  I strapped the bales of hay to bar that connects to the three point hitch and was on may way back with the plow down of course.  I unloaded the straw and plowed our drives and then plowed our township road which actually dead ends probably about a half mile from the State Route.  Once I had the tractor put away, I spread some ashes from the woodstove in the basement on the drive.  After that I was walking back down the drive and slipped and landed directly on the back of my head.  I had blacked out for about ten seconds or so.  So tonight, my head hurts, and the straw has not made it to the kennels.  However, here in the next half hour I am going to plunge through the deep snow to the kennels and give each of my buddies some nice fresh straw.  They act like little children on Christmas when you put new, fresh straw in their boxes.  They get all hyper and run in and out of the box and swirl around making beds in the fresh straw.  Just seeing this is enought to bring a smile to one's face.  They really do show how much they do appreciate it!  Well, I guess I will just have to wait on the good spring running another day.  However, just a little message for all of those Believers out there:  In Church on Sunday, our pastor mentioned how we get so excited about the arrival of spring, or get so excited about doing the things we love to do; for instance running our dogs or going hunting, but we need to be most passionate and excited for the return of our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ!  Are you ready for His coming?  I hope you are!  Until next time, GO BUCKS!
thornie
2/17/2010 06:27:18 pm

I really like the picture of you and that hot looking lady sitting on the tailgate. LOL But there is one picture of me, you need to delete or put it in the basement or even outside to scare the varmints away.

Reply
Jason
2/17/2010 06:38:07 pm

LoL Your referring to Jenny right. The one of you will have to stay....for now! hahaha

Reply
thornie
2/18/2010 02:34:47 pm

That bump on the head,really must have affected you. I didn't see Jenny sitting on the tailgate with you. I'm not that old an senile yet. I might be ugly, but I'm a good ugly. LOL

Reply
9/27/2012 06:42:15 am

THX for info

Reply



Leave a Reply.